Thierry Neuville already savors the victory against his team

The local idol is just four stages away from claiming victory at the Ypres Rally escorted by his Hyundai teammate Craig Breen.


It already smells like champagne. There are only four sections and 40 timed kilometers left to uncork. Everything is ready in Ypres to celebrate the triumph of local idol, Thierry Neuville, in a big way. Belgian fans, who for the first time experience a World Cup rally on their land, cherish the dream of seeing one of their own triumph. And in Hyundai they also rub their hands before the more than likely double thanks to Craig Breen.

The second day of this first WRC foray into Belgium got off to a bumpy start. In the first section Ott Tanak punctured and fell off the treble that the Hyundays were starring in, Pierre Louis Loubet got stuck in a gutter and the local Pieter Tsjoen crashed against a house that almost collapsed. In the second, it was Takamoto Katsuta who suffered a brutal accident that forced him to raise the red flag and neutralize, after which he was fined 2,000 euros for not pressing the ok button in the car.

From there came the tranquility and the first stage victories of the Toyota, which until that moment had seen impassive as the Hyundais scored one after another the best records in the difficult Belgian asphalt stages. Despite the fact that Andrea Adamo has said that he has not given team orders, in the first two positions there does not appear to be excessive hostilities, and Neuville and Breen are sailing safely towards the double.However, from behind, the three Toyota of Elfyn Evans, Kalle Rovanpera and Sebastien Ogier are struggling in an intense duel to reach the third step of the podium. A podium located on the mythical Spa Francorchamps circuit, the scene of the final stage in which this first World Championship rally in Belgium will be decided ... where a Belgian is about to triumph.


1. Neuville-Wydaeghe (Bel / Hyundai), 2h 6m 18.8s

2. Breen-Nagle (Irl / Hyundai), at 10.1

. Evans-Martin (Gbr / Toyota), at 42.

4. Rovanpera-Halttunen (Fin / Toyota), at 45.7

5. Ogier-Ingrassia (Fra / Toyota), at 46.7

6. Tanak-Jarveoja (Est / Hyundai), at 3: 55.2

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.