Neuville welcomes the World Cup in the 'asphalt jungle'

First visit of the contest to Ypres (Belgium), one of the most traditional and difficult tests on asphalt.


The World Rally Championship reaches the 'asphalt jungle'. The contest visits Belgium for the first time, where the Ypres Rally, one of the most traditional and difficult tests on asphalt, will be the eighth confrontation of the year. At the home of Thierry Neuville, the Belgian is the top seed in a date he won in 2018.

Belgium is the 35th country to visit the World Championship, which is entering a dizzying test, with sections full of gutter-shaped traps and whose unpredictable weather can bring big surprises. A specialist field where another Belgian star, Freddy Loix, has won 11 times. It is one of the most deeply rooted events in Europe that starts on Friday with the 'shakedown' and the first stage, and will culminate on Sunday in the mythical section of Spa Francorchamps, a few days before it is the scene of the resumption of Formula 1 after its summer break.

A favorable scenario for Hyundai squires, since both Neuville and Craig Breen were the winners in the last two editions held in 2018 and 2019, respectively (last year it was canceled due to the pandemic). Therefore, a favorable appointment to counteract the advantage held by Sebastien Ogier and Elfyn Evans in the drivers 'standings and Toyota in the brands' standings. As it is a new test for most, it will also be a great opportunity for young drivers such as Kalle Rovanpera, the recent winner in Estonia, or Adrien Fourmaux, Ford's emerging French promise.

The Belgian event has been the setting chosen by Hyundai for the premiere of its new i20 Rally2 in the hands of Oliver Solberg and Jari Huttunen, on which there will also be many eyes set. There will be no Spanish at the start, since although Pepe López and Borja Odriozola are registered, in the end they will not run because it is an appointment that will not be played next year.World of pilots 1. Sebastien Ogier, 148 points

2. Elfyn Evans, 111

3. Thierry Neuville, 96

. Kalle Rovanpera, 82

5. Ott Tanak, 7

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.