Ferrari takes the spectacular 24 hours of Spa and Molina wins in Pro-Am

The Italian team has won the spectacular and exciting 24 hours of Spa-Francorchamps, where the Spanish Miguel Molina conquered the test in the Pro-Am category.


The third Endurance race of the season at the GT World Challenge Europe (three more were contested per sprint) lived up to its category and only 29 teams managed to cross the finish line of the Belgian circuit. To the intrinsic requirement of an endurance test was added the rain, which gave even more excitement and also increased the hardness of this race, even in the last hour.

The team of the Spanish Dani Juncadella (Mercedes), who had achieved pole position with the Swiss Raffaele Marciello, was second in the seventh hour of the 24 and already in the morning, with nine hours remaining, in full fight for On the podium, the rear suspension of their vehicle said enough when it was driven by the French Jules Gounon. Twenty-four hours after the start and after having completed 556 laps of the Belgian track, less than four seconds (3,978) they decided the test in favor of the Pier trio Guidi, Nielsen and Ledogar.

The excitement arrived at the last hour, when the rain returned and there were multiple runs off the track. Dries Vanthoor's Audi regained the lead with the caution of the race, which was relaunched for sprint gambling. Less than ten minutes away, Pier Guidi's Ferrari overtook Audi to take the Italian brand to the top of the podium for the first time since 2004. It thus thwarted the great Audi comeback of the Belgians Van Thoor, Charles Weerts and the South African. Kelvin van der Linde, who had started from position 55.

A more than a minute (1: 24.957), Thiim, Gunn and Sorenseny's Aston Martin already two laps away from the next five vehicles. Eleventh overall, the Mercedes of the Mexican Ricardo Sánchez, the Argentine Ezequiel Pérez Companc, the Finn Patrick Kujala and the Dutch driver Rik Breukers, who prevailed in the SilverCup five laps behind the winner. One more (six turns of the head) finished the Spaniard Miguel Molina (Ferrari), who achieved the victory in the Pro-Am Cup, along with Duncan Cameron, Matt Griffin and Rino Mastronardi.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.