Ayuso and Sara Martín will lead Spain's under-23 teams in the European Championship

The European Road Championship, to be held in the Italian town of Trento, will take place from Wednesday 8 to Sunday 12 September.


The Italian town of Trento, capital of the Trentino-Alto Adige region, will host next week the celebration of one of the great events of the road cycling course: the European Championship, which will take place from next Wednesday 8 to Sunday September 12th.

As is usual in this type of event, the first to compete both the first two days, reserved for time trials, and later in online events will be the junior and sub23 runners. On Wednesday the 8th the junior time trials will take place and one day later, on Thursday the 9th, it will be the turn of the participants of the sub23 category. The junior and female sub23 online tests will take place on Friday the 10th; while the men's U23 will be reserved for Saturday morning 11.

Gema Pascual, the national coach, will feature in the junior women's individual time trial, which will be the test in charge of inaugurating this 2021 European Road Championship, with Laia Puigdefabregas and Ainara Albert. These two will be joined in the online test by Lucía García, Lucía Ruiz -winner of the 1st stage of the Bizkaikoloreak of the Nations Cup-, Naroa Fernández and Claudia San Justo.

In the sub23 category, the six promising cyclists chosen by Gema Pascual to compete on the route will be Sara Martín -2º absolute in the CRI of the national and 3rd in the online test-, Isabel Martín, Susana Pérez, Martina Moreno, Inés Cantera and Idoia Eraso; while in the time trial those in charge of getting on the goat will be Sara Martín and Isabel Martín.

For the junior men's category, coach Paco Cerezo will repeat the team that has left such good feelings in the last two Nations Cup, the Hungarian One Belt One Race and the Czech Peace Race. In this way, Iván Romeo -spain time and route champion-, Haimar Etxeberría, Hugo Aznar, Xabier Zabala, Pau Martí and Rubén Sánchez will be our six cyclists in the online test, with Romeo and Etxeberría being the two riders in charge of tackling also the time trial.

Finally, in the men's U23 category, the Spanish National Team will once again take advantage of its excellent generation to present both in the time trial and in the online test one of the most powerful teams that will be in the competition. The chrono will be done by Juan Ayuso, recent winner of the Giro d'Italia sub23, and Raúl García Pierna, who at 20 years old has already been 4th overall in the national elite time trial, and together with them they will compete in the online test Igor Arrieta, Xabier Mikel Azparren, Pau Miquel and Marc Brusienen.

Tomorrow, the elite men's and women's call for this European Road Championship in Trento will also be made official. All the information about the Spanish National Team can be found on social networks through the hashtag # TeamESPciclismo.

Photos from as.com
Powered by Blogger.