The hateful eight of the 2021 Tour de France

Only eight teams have been able to win a stage in the Tour de France. More than half of the stages have been divided between Cavendish, Pogacar and Van Aert.

The 2021 Tour de France has given us many curious facts and great dominators despite the attempts of the most combative cyclists in the peloton to seek a stage victory in the French round with the prestige that this entails.However, the fight for the stages this year has been more expensive than ever, since only 8 teams of the 23 that have competed in the Tour de France have achieved at least one stage victory, while the remaining 15 leave empty . It is striking that among the teams that leave without a Tour stage include squads such as Ineos, Astana, Lotto-Soudal or Movistar, among others.Among the 'hateful eight' that have been distributed over the 21 stages of the Tour, the Deceuninck Quick-Step stands out in particular, which has taken 5 stages with Julian Alaphilippe and Mark Cavendish through the four of Jumbo-Visma by Wout Van Aert and Sepp Kuss , the three from UAE Emirates with Tadej Pogacar and from Bahrain-Victorious with Matej Mohoric and Dylan Teuns, the two from Alpecin-Fenix with Mathieu Van der Poel and Tim Merlier and from Bora-Hansgrohe with Nils Politt and Patrick Konrad and the victories achieved by AG2R-Citröen with Ben O'Connor and Trek-Segafredo with Bauke Mollema.

There is another curious fact that speaks of the dominators of this Tour de France 2021. And it is that between Mark Cavendish, with four victories, and Tadej Pogacar and Wout Van Aert, with three victories each, they have added more than half of the victories stages of this Tour de France. The teams that have gone empty in this Tour de France are already looking to the 2022 edition to take revenge on the 'hateful eight' that have left them without success this year.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.