Rovanpera becomes the youngest winner in history

With his victory in the seventh round of the World Championship, the Finn is the earliest winner in the World Rally Championship at 20 years, 9 months and 17 days.


Seeing his child's face, no one could guess that once he is clad in the overalls and the helmet he becomes a beast at the wheel. A predator that has blown up the World Championship record for precocity. With his victory in the Estonian Rally, Kalle Rovanpera has become the youngest winner in history at 20 years, 9 months and 17 days, ousting his now Toyota boss, Jari-Matti Latvala, who has held that honor since the 2008 Rally Sweden, in which he won at 22 years, 10 months and 7 days.

Thirteen years later, another Finn has turned the story around. After becoming the youngest to reach the podium at the 2020 Rally Sweden and the earliest to lead a rally also in Estonia a year ago, now Rovanpera has achieved his first major goal: to win a rally at the youngest age of the history. He has time for his next record, as the youngest champion was Colin McRae at 27 years and 109 days.

We have known Kalle since he was a child. His illustrious father, Harri, who was an official driver of Seat, Peugeot and Mitsubishi and winner in Sweden in 2001, took it upon himself to make his videos viral, skidding through the frozen lakes of Finland when he barely reached the pedals and the steering wheel. At the age of 14 he began to compete in his second homeland, Latvia, his mother's country where he has dual citizenship, and at 17 he made his World Championship debut at the Rally Great Britain. After winning the WRC2 World Championship in 2019, he is recruited by Toyota, a team with which he has come of age with this victory.

Sixth victory for Toyota out of seven possible, and the umpteenth disappointment for Hyundai, which once again saw it as a rally in which they were the fastest (Ott Tanak was the driver who has won the most stages), the victory was for his eternal rivals . Sebastien Ogier remains a firm leader in the drivers 'standings and Toyota in the brands' before entering a short vacation of just under a month until the Ypres Rally (13-15 August), the first time that the World Championship lands in Belgium.

Pepe López finished fourth in the WRC3 category in a very complicated and different test, in which he has added valuable experiences together with his new co-driver Borja Odriozola.


1. Rovanpera-Halttunen (Fin / Toyota), 2h 51m 29.1s

2. Breen-Nagle (Irl / Hyundai), at 59.9

. Neuville-Wydaeghe (Bel / Hyundai), at 1: 12.

4. Ogier-Ingrassia (Fra / Toyota), at 1: 24.0

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.