Mikel Landa is back at the Clásica San Sebastián

Juan Ayuso makes his debut in a WorldTour race wanting to surprise. Brilliant roster in celebration of 40 years of the test, although the Games have crossed out many stars.


Mikel Landa (Bahrain) returns after his fall in the Giro and after many weeks of wondering why he is so unlucky. It is the great attraction of the Clásica de San Sebastián on an active weekend, as he plans to run the Getxo Circuit on Sunday as well. But there are more focuses of attention in Donostia, in an appointment that turns 40 and that returns after last year's suspension due to a pandemic. Especially Juan Ayuso (UAE), who makes his debut in a WorldTour race and does not rule out taking a blow. Vingegaard, second in the last Tour, will also be on the starting line, as will Egan Bernal (the track is not bad at all), Gianni Moscon, Adam Yates, Andrey Amador, Gorka Izaguirre, Luis León Sánchez, Nicholas Roche, Jan Bakelants and Gallopin. A brilliant roster, although the Olympics have crossed out many world stars. There are seven riders per team. Movistar will date Serrano, Samitier, Rojas, Carretero, Jorgenson, Jacobs and Rubio. They will start runners who can move it to spare or even dispute it if they reach the last climb in full, a few kilometers from the finish line in the Gipuzkoan capital, such as Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), who already won in 2016 or Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step) that achieved it in 2018.

At 11:43 am, the start will be taken from the San Sebastian Town Hall, in Alderdi Eder, to face the 223.50 km, passing through six ports and with two sprints in intermediate locations. The arrival of the Clásica de San Sebastián is scheduled for 5:50 p.m. on Donostiarra Boulevard. The exhibition of Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck) in the 2019 edition still remains in the minds of the fans, the last one that has been held

The route passes through Usurbil, Orio, Zarauz, Guetaria, Deba, Mendaro, Azkoitia, Tolosa, Anoeta, Alkiza, Andoain, Urnieta, Hernani, Oiartzun, Renteria, Lezo, Irun, Pasajes and Igueldo. In the first passage through San Sebastián there will be a cut and the runners who arrive more than ten minutes from those who are in the lead, will be disqualified and will not be able to do the final circuit with the demanding climb of Murgil included. This prevents them from crossing the streets of San Sebastián.

The six scoring ports are Azkarate (4.2 km. At 7.3 percent), Urraki (8.6 km. At 6.9%), Alkiza (4.4 km. 6.2%), Jaizkibel (7 , 9 km at 5.6%), Erlaitz (3.8 km at 10.6%) and Murgil Tontorra (2.1 km at 10.1%). There will be sprints in Hondarribia and in the first pass through the Boulevard finish line. The men's race will be played by 19 UCI World Teams (Deceuninck, AG2-R, UAE, Astana, Trek, Bora, Movistar, Israel, FDJ, Education First, Ineos, Bahrain, Qhubeka, Bikeexchange, Jumbo, Cofidis, Intermarché, DSM and Lotto ) and six guests (Total Energies, Caja Rural, Euskaltel, Burgos, Arkea and KernPharma) .

The women's race will start at 9:15 am and will be 140 km long. You will pass through the ports of Aia, Jaizkibel, Gurutze and Murgil Tontorra. Arrival is scheduled for 1:15 pm, also on the Boulevard. 2019 winner Lucy Kennedy (BikeExchange) will be on the starting line for Alderdi Eder. Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) did not finally sign up. He comes from Tokyo and he also needs a break. There will be six UCI Womens Worldteams teams (BikeExchange, Liv Racing, Ljubljana, Movistar, FDJ and Trek) and twelve guests (Ceratizit, Massi, Rio Miera, Women Cycling, Fassa Bortolo, Monex, Eneicat, Farto, Valcar, Laboral Kutxa, Sopela and Bizkaia Durango) .

Photos from as.com
Powered by Blogger.