Djokovic, Nadal, Federer, Williams and Osaka will be at the US Open

The big names of the ATP and the WTA join the US Open. It will be held, with the public, from August 30 to September 12.

The biggest stars in tennis, including current ATP No. 1 Novak Djokovic and his perennial rivals Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer, will participate in the 2021 US Tennis Open, in addition to the most prominent figures of the women's circuit, such as Serena Williams, Ashleigh Barty and Naomi Osaka, as announced by the organizers on Wednesday.

Flushing Meadows will this year be the scene of a battle between Djokovic, Nadal and Federer to win one more Grand Slam title, since each of the three players currently has a score of them under their arms.Djokovic, in particular, will also fight to become the third man to win all four Grand Slam in the same year, after having already won the Australian Open, Roland Garros and Wimbledon in 2021.

If he wins a gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics, in which he participates, Flushing Meadows could become the only man to win the so-called "Golden Slam" by winning the Big 4 plus Olympic gold in a same year, something that until now only the German Steffi Graff achieved in 1988.

Also present in New York will be Dominic Thiem, who won the US Open last year, as well as Stan Wawrinka, Marin Cilic, Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Alexander Zverev.

In the women's draw, Barty will try to win another of the greats this year after winning at Wimbledon, and Osaka will defend the New York title, which she won last year by beating Belarusian Victoria Azarenka in the final after coming back a set against.

Aryna Sabalenka, Sofia Kenin, Bianca Andreescu, Elina Svitolina and Karolina Pliskova have also confirmed their participation in the tournament, in addition to the winner of 23 Grand Slams Serena Williams, and the Spanish Garbiñe Muguruza, currently in ninth position in the WTA.

The US Tennis Open, in which the maximum capacity will be allowed again after last year the public attendance was prohibited by the coronavirus pandemic, will be held this year from August 30 to August 12 Sep.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.