Surprise in the final: the Bears, NCAA champions

The Bears give the surprise. They dominate the favorite from start to finish, leaving him at 70 pyrrhic points and conquering the NCAA for the first time in their history.


NCAA history. The March Madness ended with a surprise as unexpected as it was deserved, Baylor's victory against Gonzaga, the great favorite to take a title that the Bears have won for the first time in history. The university competition, orphaned by the public throughout the season (a classic in the last year), allowed 8,000 people to enter the Indiana stadium, which had a capacity for 70,000. But without the bustle inherent in a tournament famous for its highlights and the sporadic, anarchic and explosive reactions from the public, Baylor incontestably prevailed against a team that had not lost a game since 2019 and was the main candidate for the title, after qualify for the final with a victory over the horn against UCLA, thanks to an impressive triple by Jalen Suggs, who was as missing as the rest of his teammates in the most important game of the season.

The Bears overwhelmed Gonzaga from the start, with a 0-9 set that caught the favorites by surprise, who neither dead times nor spontaneous reactions managed to stop the bleeding. Scott Drew, who came to the benches of Baylor in 2003, at just 32 years old, and rescued them from a structural and sports crisis that added a participation in the March Madness in 53 years and a murder (that of Carlton Dotson to Patrick Dennehy a few months before Drew's arrival). The project of the coach, a native of Missouri, culminates with a spectacular victory against a team that averaged 90 points (the best attack in the last five years) and has remained at 70. The dominance has been total in all facets of the game, It has been reflected in both parts and in a clear advantage that has always gone hand in hand with the rebound (38 to 22, with 16 offensive for the Bears) and the triple (7 of 11 at halftime and 10 of 23 at the end, for just 5 of 17 Gonzaga) .

The favorites fell, by the way, by 16 points, the maximum difference by which a seeded NCAA final has lost since they first registered, in 1979. That year, by the way, the only final took place. which has been lost with two digits in addition to the latter. And it was, ironies of fate, when Larry Bird's Sycamores fell to Magic Johnson's Spartans. Gonzaga, who has never won the title, has made history, and sadly the bad, but at least he comes across a fluke that will make it into college basketball books. Another curiosity to take into account affects the champions, who had not been in the NCAA final for 73 years, specifically in 1948. It is the biggest difference ever between one final and another ... and it has ended with a most happy outcome for them. From time to time and without serving as a precedent. David defeats Goliath.

Butler, Mitchell and Teague, the heroes

The victory, more worked than the luminous one says, was forged in the first half, when the Bears got a 15-point lead, a situation in which Gonzaga had not seen himself all season and that he could not solve. Butler, Mitchell and Teague led the victory: the first finished with 22 points, 3 rebounds and 7 assists (the first player since Carmelo Anthony to have those numbers, which have given him the MVP), Mitchell added an excellent 15 + 6 + 5 and Teague, 19 points. The three were the architects who managed to solve the most critical moment of the game, 49-58 with which Gonzaga threatened to come back. It was a fleeting attempt, resolved with a well-directed timeout by Scott Drew and a set that, in just a few minutes, left the distance back almost insurmountable with a triple by Adam Flagler that made it 51-67. Gonzaga did not get that close again in the light, while the Bears managed to maintain a distance at all times enhanced by a spectacular defense, which caused up to 14 losses in their rivals.In the runner-up, Timme was not the one in the previous rounds (12 goals and few flashes), Kispert added 12 points but appeared intermittently and Suggs, that player who should have been the hero, went to 22, the top scorer of the his, but most of his points came in inconsequential moments and with the match already resolved, he took the opportunity to add statistics. The match was Baylor's from start to finish, and the University of Texas won the first men's title in history after winning the women's title three times (2005, 2012 and 2019), trained by a historic one like Kim Mulkey. The Bears enter their name in the ultimate college basketball competition, teach a (perhaps) confident opponent, and surprise March Madness. A competition that, on the other hand, is always accompanied by some unusual event. Something that, you know, has happened again. The Bears, NCAA champions.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.