There are already finalists for the Hall of Fame: Bosh, Pierce, Bill Russell ...

In total, there are 14 former players and coaches who could enter the 2021 promotion. The final decision will be announced on May 16.

The Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday the finalists to enter the 2021 promotion: there are nine former players and five coaches. The Class of 2021 will be announced on May 16 (that day will enter the 2020 promotion, postponed by the pandemic) and the ceremony date, which is scheduled for September, will be announced that same day. We review who's who among the finalists.

Rick Adelman

He led NBA franchises for more than three decades and ended his career with a record of 1,042 wins and 749 losses (58.2%). His teams played the playoffs in 16 of his 23 seasons and led the Portland Trail Blazers to two NBA Finals (1990 and 1992). Adelman is the ninth most victorious coach in history: in two seasons he reached 60 and in eleven, 50. He reached 200 wins in just 288 games, a record at that time. He participated three times in the All Star Game (1991, 2001 and 2003) .

Chris Bosh

He was an 11-time NBA All-Star (2006-2016) and two-time NBA Champion with the Miami Heat (2012 and 2013). In 13 NBA seasons, he averaged 19.2 points and 8.5 rebounds per game. In college (Georgia Tech) he won the Rookie of the Year award in 2003 and in his freshman year in the NBA (Toronto Raptors) he was inducted into the rookie team. Bosh claimed Olympic gold in Beijing 2008.

Michael Cooper

He was a five-time NBA champion with the Los Angeles Lakers Showtime (1980, 1982, 1985, 1987 and 1988) and important for his defensive contribution to a team full of offensive talent. He was on the NBA defensive team five times (1982, 1984, 1985, 1987 and 1988) and was named Best Defender in 1987. He played one season for Virtus Roma.

Tim Hardaway

Olympic gold medalist in Sydney 2000, Hardaway played 13 NBA seasons and scored 15,373 points, averaging more than 20 points per game for four consecutive years. In 1997 he was in the ideal team of the season and is 18th in the history of assists (7,095) .

Marques Johnson

Five times all star (1979-81, 1983 and 1986), on the rookies team in 1978 and the NBA team in 1979, in 11 NBA seasons, he averaged 20.1 points and 7.0 rebounds per game. In 2013 he was inducted into the NCAA Hall of Fame.

Paul Pierce

NBA champion with the Celtics (2008) and Finals MVP. He played 19 seasons in the NBA, was a 10-time all-star and is the 19th all-time in scoring in the NBA with 26,397 points. In his debut-year rookie squad, his number (34) has been retired by the Boston Celtics and Kansas Jayhawks.

Bill Russell

He was the first black coach in NBA history. In his second season as a player-coach, Russell led the Boston Celtics to the NBA title, thus becoming the first African-American coach to win an NBA title. The following season, Russell would once again lead Boston to the Finals and to the NBA ring, his eleventh and final title. With the Celtics, Seattle SuperSonics and Sacramento Kings, he finished his career with a balance of 341-290 (0.54%). As a player-coach, Russell was named Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year in 1968. Since 1975, Russell has already been in the Hall of Fame, albeit as a player.Ben Wallace

Four times Best Defender of the NBA (2002, 2003, 2005 and 2006), four times all star (2003-06) and champion of the NBA with the Detroit Pistons (2004). He was in the NBA defensive five times (2002-2006) and in the second team three times (2003, 2004 and 2006), while leading the NBA in rebounds (2002 and 2003) and in blocks (2002) .

Chris Webber

Rookie of the year in 1994, was in the dream team of the season in 2001 and was five times all star (1997 and 2000-2003). He led the NBA in rebounds during the 1998-1999 season and averaged more than 20 points per game nine consecutive seasons (1994-2003). As a member of the "Fab Five", Webber led the University of Michigan to the Final Four in 1992 and 1993.

Jay Wright

Two-time Naismith National Coach (2006 and 2016), six-time Big East Conference Coach of the Year (2006, 2009, 2014-16 and 2019) and the first coach in NCAA history who led four straight seasons to his team at 30 wins. He led Villanova to two NCAA National Championships (2016 and 2018) and seven Big East Regular Season Championships (2006, 2014-17, 2019, 2020).Leta Andrews has been a high school basketball coach for over 50 years and is the highest-ranked high school coach (male or female) in grassroots basketball history.Landa Griffith

Seven times all star of the WNBA (1999-2001, 2003, 2005-2007) and two Olympic golds (2000, 2004). She won the ring in 2005 with the Sacramento Monarchs, years after being the WNBA MVP and Best Defender of the Year (1999). In 1999, Griffith won the WNBA MVP and Defensive Player of the Year, while leading the league in shooting from the field, rebounds, offensive rebounds, and steals per game. Griffith was named a member of the WNBA Team of the Decade in 2006 and among the top 20 players in League history in 2016.

Lauren Jackson

Seven times all star (2001-2003, 2005-2007, 2009) and three times the WNBA MVP (2003, 2007, 2010), the Australian won two rings with the Seattle Storm (2004 and 2010) and was the MVP of the Finals in 2007. In 2007, Jackson was named Best Defender, while leading the league in rebounds and points. Like Griffith, Jackson was named a member of the team of the decade in 2006 and among the top 20 players in history in 2016.

Marianne Stanley

More than 40 years on the bench at the university and professional level. She won the NCAA in 1985 with Old Dominion and was voted AIAW National Coach of the Year in 1979. Since 2000, she has served as an assistant and head coach for various WNBA franchises. Leading the Washington Mystics, he won the WNBA Best Coach award in 2002.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.