Pedersen leaves Van der Poel without prize after 80 km of escape

The Danish from the Trek won the Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne in the sprint of the chosen group, who hunted Van der Poel and the rest of the adventurers within 2 km of the finish line.


Mads Pedersen (Trek) was the winner of the Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne, a Flemish classic that was decided this Sunday in a sprint among a small group of favorites. The Dane, who had the launch of his teammate Stuyven, prevailed with enormous authority over Turgis and the young Pidcock, who accompanied him on the podium. The outcome made good the belief that this appointment is the most propitious northern classic to decide to sprint, but it was not because Mathieu van der Poel did not attempt an epic feat that was diluted 1.7 km from the finish line ... 444 444

The Dutchman, who arrived after leaving the UAE Tour when he was leader due to a positive in his team, set out to be the absolute protagonist and was about to achieve it. When the race progressed with a break that seemed without options and all the favorites in the big group, the phenomenon of the Alpecin started in the Kruisberg ... 82 km from the finish line! Only the Ecuadorian Narváez decided to accompany him on the adventure that was about to come to fruition.

About 20 km later, the pair reached the height of the break, from which Bodnar, Gamper, Zakharov and Hvideberg (a member of the surprising Norwegian Uno-X team) kept up the pace to stay in the lead, something that was not easy since Van der Poel seemed to be testing himself and not competing. Van der Poel was the only one who shot, nor did he receive any relief, much less ask for them, and thus he was opening a gap to the point of making the breakaway have options for success.

However, in the final section and despite the fact that the rest of the escapees began to collaborate with the Neernandés, a straighter road in which the pursuit became easier allowed the group of favorites to get closer. The Deceuninck, much less protagonist than in the Omloop on Saturday, did make the definitive move to end the adventure, since a start from Kasper Asgreen served to hunt down the escapees and make the victory be decided on the sprint, in which Pedersen, 2019 world champion, added another prestigious classic to his record after winning the Ghent Wevelgem in 2020

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.