Evenepoel and Van Aert, chosen Belgians for the Olympic time trial

Wout van Aert and Remco Evenepoel are the riders chosen by Belgian coach Sven Vanthourenhout for the Tokyo time trial.


Wout van Aert (Jumbo Visma) and Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck Quick Step) are the cyclists chosen by the Belgian coach, Sven Vanthourenhout, to represent his country in the individual time trial at the Tokyo Olympics. Evenepoel, convalescing from his fall last August in Il Lombardia, had a guaranteed place after the silver medal in the 2019 World Cup and now the national coach has announced that he will be accompanied by Van Aert, world runner-up in time trial and road in 2020 . A specialist such as Victor Campenaerts will remain in reserve.

Those chosen for the time trial will also be part of the five-man selection for the road race. "The selection of Remco Evenepoel depends on his return to normality after his injury, of course. And the second runner will be Wout van Aert," said the coach.

Evenepoel has not competed since Il Lombardia last August and will return to racing on May 8 with the start of the Giro d'Italia. Van Aert is the current world runner-up in cyclo-cross and will be at the Strade Bianche start on Saturday. Their program includes the Tour de France before the Olympics.

Campenaerts (Qhubeka Assos), who gracefully admitted the choice of his two compatriots, was European time trial champion in 2017 and 2018, and also took a bronze medal at the 2018 Innsbruck World Cup.

Photos from as.com

Powered by Blogger.