There are already reservations for the All Star: Harden, Zion, LaVine ...

The reserves of the two conferences, chosen by the coaches, and with them the complete teams for the All Star 2021 have been announced.


The 2020-21 NBA season, that of the pandemic, already has its all stars. The 24 players chosen for an unlikely date; one that was initially canceled with its original venue, an Indianapolis that will organize the event in 2024, and reappeared in express and compressed format: it will be at the State Farm Arena in Atlanta, on a single day on March 7. There will be games and contests but it will be all on the same day. Things of a health prevention that will be one of the key factors of the event, criticized by many of the players, who considered its celebration unnecessary in this season marked by the coronavirus, health protocols and the absence of public in the vast majority of matches.

Last week the starting five were announced: in the East Kyrie Irving (Brooklyn Nets), Bradley Beal (Washington Wizards), Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks), Kevin Durant (Brooklyn Nets) and Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers). In the West Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors), Luka Doncic (Dallas Mavericks), LeBron James (Los Angeles Lakers), Kawhi Leonard (Los Angeles Clippers) and Nikola Jokic (Denver Nuggets). These emanate from a vote that is distributed between fans (50%), specialized press (25%) and League players (another 25%). Now the reserves have been announced, seven per Conference (for the twelve totals of each side), which are chosen by vote of the coaches.

With these 24 names, the final teams will be made, on Thursday in a ceremony in which a captain from each side (LeBron James and Kevin Durant) will choose on foot. Without limits per Conference but respecting the ranks: first they will choose the other eight holders, four each, and then they will be distributed to the reserves. From there will come the final format of the All Star 2021: Team LeBron vs Team Durant. It is the fourth year that the classic East vs. West duel has been avoided. So far we have had one LeBron vs Team Curry Theme and two Team LeBron vs Team Antetokounmpo.

There was a lot of competition and only seven bench seats per conference. These, it must be remembered, are awarded as follows: on each side, two from the backcourt (guards and guards), three from the frontcourt (forwards, power forwards and centers) and two wildcards (players of any position). Finally, the chosen ones have been these:

RESERVATIONS FOR THE EAST CONFERENCE: Chris Paul (Phoenix Suns), Paul George (Los Angeles Clippers), Damian Lillard (Portland Trail Blazers), Donovan Mitchell and Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz), Zion Williamson (New Orleans Pelicans) and Anthony Davis ( Los Angeles Lakers) .

WEST CONFERENCE RESERVATIONS: James Harden (Brooklyn Nets), Julius Randle (New York Knicks), Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown (Boston Celtics), Zach LaVine (Chicago Bulls), Ben Simmons (Philadelphia 76ers) and Nikola Vucevic (Orlando Magic) ) .

There are four players who will debut in an All Star, three in the East (Randle, Brown and LaVine) and one in the West (Zion). Anthony Davis is safe for the All-Star game due to injury and Adam Silver will be in charge of choosing his replacement. Among the possible names are some of the absences that have attracted the most attention. In the case of the Western Conference, players like Devin Booker or Mike Conley could well have been among the twelve chosen. On the other side of the map there are even more surprising names outside the definitive list: Jimmy Butler, Bam Adebayo, Trae Young, Kris Middleton or Domantas Sabonis.

Only, it remains, therefore, the cast of Thursday and everything will be served for this All Star that was made official just a few days ago. Not only is the East-West duel still breaking, but the Elam Ending, which gave such a good result last season, is also repeated to restore the competitiveness that seems lost to the clash. With Chicago 2020, the match will not last the usual 48 minutes but will proceed with a system that gives it a new spicy touch: the first three quarters start 0-0 and the winner of each one gets a financial prize for a Local NGO. Before the last quarter, the scores of the other three are added and a number of points is added to the highest figure (24, in tribute to Kobe Bryant). And it is played without a time limit until one of the teams reaches that number that gives victory.

That special day on Sunday will also have skills contests, triples and dunks. The first two will be before the All Star Game and the dunk, at halftime. In Spanish time, the start of these first contests will be 00:30 at night (from Sunday 7 to Monday 8). The All Star Game will start at 02: 00.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.