Ott Tanak regains his smile in Lapland

The Estonian culminated his absolute dominance in the second round of the year and with his triumph he made up for the abandonment of Monte Carlo. Rovanpera, new leader of the World Cup.


This time he smiled. His usual serious gesture has given way to the celebration in Lapland. Following his retirement from Monte Carlo, Ott Tanak retaliated with a resounding victory in the Arctic Rally Finland, his second victory for Hyundai after last year at his home country, Estonia. In contrast, the happiest man in Monaco, Sebastien Ogier, has left the land of Santa Claus in white after being trapped in the snow.

And while they play yours-mine, Kalle Rovanpera has been placed leader of the World Cup, the youngest in history. Alegrías go through neighborhoods. Tanak has not given a choice. From the very shakedown he has shown his superiority, and nothing and no one has been able to overshadow him on the fast stretches of the Arctic Circle. A new appointment that has not disappointed, with snow everywhere and vertigo speeds, often exceeding 200 km / h. A scenario in which Tanak has scored his 14th victory, which relaunches him in the fight for the title.

The battle for second place was decided in the last meter, Rovanpera beating Thierry Neuville by just 2.3 seconds after winning the final stage with extra points, which climbs him to the leadership of the championship. In the fight for the fourth Craig Breen defeated Elfyn Evans, while the young Oliver Solberg gave up sixth place by making a mistake in the last meters, but left his mark on the debut with a black leg car at 19 years old. On the podium, minute of silence in memory of the late Hannu Mikkola.

Next stop, Rally Croatia, also new on the calendar, April 22-25 in Zagreb. Asphalt event in which Dani Sordo will most likely return in what will be his first rally with Borja Rozada.


1. Tanak-Jarveoja (Est / Hyundai) 2h 3: 49.6s2. Rovanpera-Halttunen (Fin / Toyota) at 17.53. Neuville-Wydaeghe (Bel / Hyundai) 19.84. Breen-Nagle (Irl / Hyundai) 52.65. Evans-Martin (Gbr / Toyota) 1: 01.5

World of pilots

1. Kalle Rovanpera, 39 points 2. Thierry Neuville, 353. Sebastien Ogier, 314. Elfyn Evans, 315. Ott Tanak, 27

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.