Official: F1 suffers its first setback

The championship has announced a modification in the calendar foreseen by the coronavirus crisis. Bahrain will open fire on March 28.


When the river sounds, water carries. This saying could be used to summarize the announcement that the Formula 1 World Championship has made this Tuesday. Because the championship has made it official that Albert Park will not be the first date where Gran Circo fans will be able to see the first evolutions of Fernando Alonso with Alpine, Sebastian Vettel with Aston Martin, Carlos Sainz with Ferrari or Sergio Pérez with Red Bull.

In a statement provided through its website, the competition has announced that due to the health crisis that is causing the coronavirus pandemic in Australia, the Melbourne race is delayed to the end of November, with the 2021 Bahrain GP in Sakhir. the first real fire test that the 10 teams that make up the grid will have.

Similarly, the World Cup has also revealed that the Formula 1 caravan will not travel to Shanghai in mid-April, since, as with the country of Oceania, the high number of infections by COVID-19 that in the In recent days this nation is registering against the dispute of the Chinese GP 2021. Instead, and as it happened in 2020, the Emilia-Romagna GP will be part of the official yearbook. These swaps have yet to be approved World Motor Sports Council.

It should be noted that the 65th edition of the Spanish GP, the 31st that is held consecutively at the Circuit Barcelona-Catalunya, will take place on 9 May. A route that this Monday announced that it will soon start negotiations with Liberty Media to sign a new long-term contract to ensure its continuity in the event beyond 2021.

Official Calendar of the Formula 1 World Championship 2021

28 March - Bahrain (Sakhir)

April 18 - Italy (Imola *)

2 May - TBC

9 May - Spain (Barcelona)

2 May 3 - Monaco (Monaco)

6 June - Azerbaijan (Baku)

June 13 - Canada (Montreal)

27 June - France (Le Castellet)

July 4 - Austria (Spielberg)

July 18 - UK (Silverstone)

1 August - Hungary (Budapest)

29 August - Belgium (Spa)

5 September - Holland (Zandvoort)

12 September - Italy (Monza)

26 September - Russia (Sochi)

Oct - Singapore (Singapore)

October 10 - Japan (Suzuka)

October 24 - United States (Austin)

1 October - Mexico (Mexico City)

7 November - Brazil (Sao Paulo)

21 November - Australia (Melbourne *)

5 December - Saudi Arabia (Jeddah **)

December 12 - Abu Dhabi (Yas Island)

* Calendar revisions are subject to approval by the World Motor Sports Council

** Pending circuit approval

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.