Pedersen wins while Van Aert and Van der Poel score

The former world champion conquered the Belgian classic after being the strongest of the group of nine that reached the end. Van der Poel and Van Aert marched in it ... 8th and 9th.


Mads Pedersen was the winner of the 2020 Ghent-Wevelgem, a classic in which the former Danish world champion was the strongest of the group of favorites who played the victory. Some chosen from among those who were the two top contenders, Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel, who paid for the excessive marking they suffered from their rivals, and from each other. In fact, they finished eighth and ninth in that group, one at the wheel of the other, with no options.

Belgian and Dutch left in the area of the walls together with Kung, Lampaert, Degenkolb, Trentin, Bettiol, Senechal and Pedersen. The nine, despite Teuns' attempts to link, reached the last kilometers with the typical marking. It was the moment in which Bettiol tried to surprise with an attack when he was about to go through the banner of the last kilometer, and took Senechal, Trentin and Pedersen to the wheel. Van der Poel and Van Aert looked at each other, and the Belgian tried to start with the Dutchman at the wheel when it was too late.

At the finish line, Pedersen was the fastest ahead of Senechal, Trentin and Bettiol, while behind Kung, Degenkolb and Lampaert started with no options. The two top favorites, Van Aert and Van der Poel entered the last positions of the group of applicants together. In the case of Pedersen, third victory of the season after those achieved in the Tour of Poland and Binckbank Tour.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.