World cycling time trial 2020: riders, favorites and profile

Check the list of runners, favorites and the profile of the road cycling World Cup counter that will take place this Friday, September 25 in Imola.


The time trials will kick off the Road Cycling World Championships that will be held from September 24 to 27 in the Italian city of Imola after moving the original headquarters of Aigle-Martigny (Switzerland) due to the coronavirus pandemic. On Friday, the men's time trial will be held, where great riders will choose to wear a rainbow jersey that Rohan Dennis has worn for the last two years.

Follow the time trial of the Cycling World Cup in Imola live and direct


There is still no official list of participants in the men's time trial of the World Cups but about 60-70 runners are expected to start the event. Each country may compete in the event with a maximum of two representatives, while there will be countries that have only one specialist against the clock.


Rohan Dennis

The Australian is the rival to beat at Imola 2020 after winning the World Time Trials in Innsbruck 2018 and Yorkshire 2019. Dennis will seek his third consecutive World Cup, a milestone that only Michael Rogers and Tony Martin have achieved.

Victor Campenaerts

The Belgian, current time record holder, is looking for his coveted rainbow jersey after finishing third at the 2018 Innsbruck World Cups and eleventh at Yorkshire 2019 despite suffering two falls that separated him from the fight for medals.

Wout Van Aert

The Belgian will make his debut in a road World Championship in a discipline in which he has already shown his skills. Belgian time trial champion, Van Aert is coming off fourth in the demanding Tour chrono at La Planche des Belles Filles.

Mikkel Bjerg

After three consecutive world titles in the under-23 category, Mikkel Bjerg makes the leap to the senior category where he hopes to add another new rainbow jersey against the great rollers of the peloton.

Geraint Thomas

The Briton, who was not present at the Tour de France, will be the great British asset for the rainbow jersey. Fourth in the Tirreno chrono, Thomas will seek to be world champion before the assault on the Giro d'Italia.

Rémi Cavagna

The French time trial champion has already demonstrated his skills on the flat during the Tour de France and also made it clear in the La Planche des Belles Filles chrono that he can be measured against the great specialists against the clock.

Filippo Ganna

The great Italian hope for the chrono. Reigning Italian time trial champion, Ganna prevailed in Tirreno's time against rivals such as Dennis, Thomas or Campenaerts, whom he hopes to beat now in the 'home' World Cups.

Tom Dumoulin

The Dutchman arrives at the World Championship after having regained his sensations in the Tour de France. World champion at Bergen 2017, Dumoulin is looking for a new rainbow jersey after being second in the La Planche des Belles Filles chrono behind Tadej Pogacar.

Patrick Bevin

The New Zealander stroked the podium at the Yorkshire World Cups and this year he wants to go one step further. Bevin has already shone in time trials such as the Vuelta a España 2019, where only Primoz Roglic deprived him of the victory.

Pello Bilbao

The Spanish time trial champion will be the only Spanish representative in the fight for the chrono rainbow jersey. Bilbao has already shown its performance as a wheeler in major races on the calendar and managed to be twelfth in the demanding lap of La Planche des Belles Filles.

The profile

The runners will have to face a 31.7-kilometer route starting and finishing in Imola, ideal for big rollers, since there are only 200 meters of positive elevation gain on the track. The first 15 kilometers will incline slightly up towards Borgo Tossignano, where the intermediate point will be located. From here they will ride through a flat area to Codrignano, where they will have a more favorable terrain before a couple of steep slopes at the entrance to the Dino e Enzo Ferrari Autodrome, where the new time trial world champion will be crowned.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.