The favorites to win the Tirreno-Adriatico 2020

Great figures of the peloton compete from this Monday in the Italian event, which this year will have eight stages, to win the champion's trident.


Despite the fact that most of the figures in the peloton dispute the Tour de France these days, those riders who have the Giro d'Italia as their great goal this season will face the Tirreno-Adriatico, one of the great tests of a week of the UCI World Tour.

The 'Race of the Two Seas', which this edition will have eight stages instead of the usual seven, will be decided on the days of Cascia and, especially, on the great mountain day of Sassotetto, which could make big differences in the general.

The coincidence with the Tour has not prevented great figures of the peloton from participating in the Tirreno-Adriatico. On the part of Astana, Jakob Fuglsang and Alexander Vlasov stand out, who transfer to this race the duel they already had with Vincenzo Nibali in the last Tour of Lombardy. Briton Simon Yates is also emerging as one of the riders to watch in the race.

This list of favorites also includes the three cyclists with whom Ineos-Grenadiers intends to assault the general classification: Rohan Dennis, Geraint Thomas and Chris Froome, the latter two after not being included in the team for the Tour. Other riders to watch out for are Dylan Teuns, Rafal Majka, Michael Woods or Carl Fredrik Hagen.

Spectacle in the volatas

In addition to the fight for the general, we can also see beautiful results in the mass arrivals. With the majority of sprinters concentrated on the Tour, other sprinters such as Mathieu Van der Poel, Mark Cavendish, Pascal Ackermann, Álvaro Hodeg, Michael Matthews and Fernando Gaviria will give a show in the Tirreno-Adriatico flyships.

Nine cyclists, the Spanish representation

Nine Spanish riders compete in the Tirreno-Adriatico. Álex Aranburu and Óscar Rodríguez will try to help Fuglsang and Vlasov in Astana while Iván García Cortina will be Bahrain-Merida's trump card in the sprints alongside Cavendish. Víctor de la Parte will be one of the references of the CCC while Dani Navarro will run in the ranks of the Israel Start-Up. Carlos Barbero will try to shine in the volatas with the NTT while Héctor Carretero, Sergio Samitier and Albert Torres will try to be protagonists in the Movistar.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.