New victory for the Toyota 8 in the 24 Hours of Le Mans

The LMP1 hybrid number 8 met no opposition after the turbo failure of its 'sister' car, the number 7 driven by Mike Conway, 'Pechito' López and Kamui Kobayashi.


The number 8 Toyota, driven by the Swiss Sebastien Buemi, the Japanese Kazuki Nakajima and the New Zealander Brendon Hartley, won this Sunday the 88th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, an event free of incidents and in the that the Japanese brand took its third consecutive victory in the appointment.

The LMP1 hybrid number 8, which in the last two years had also won with Spaniard Fernando Alonso at the wheel, met no opposition after the turbo failure of his 'sister' car, number 7 driven by Englishman Mike Conway, Argentine José María 'Pechito' López and Japanese Kamui Kobayashi, who was forced to pit and lose seven laps when he was leading the event.

Even so, they managed to be third due to the mechanical problems of Rebellion number 3 with an hour remaining to conclude the appointment. The second position went to another Rebellion, the number 1 piloted by Brazilian Bruno Senna, American Gustavo Menezes and Frenchman Norman Nato.

For their part, the two Spaniards in the running, Miguel Molina, aboard the Ferrari number 71 in the LMGTE-Pro category, and the former Formula 1 driver Roberto Merhi, aboard the Eurasia number 35 in LMP2, did not enjoy much fortune in the appointment.

The team from Girona was forced to leave due to car problems in a race in which the Aston Martin Vantage number 97 of Maxime Martin, Alex Lynn and Harry Tincknell won, while the team from Castellón had no options due to difficulties when steering wheel of the Japanese Nobuya Yamanaka. In that category, the winner was the number 22 United Autosport, owned by McLaren team boss Zak Brown and driven by Phil Hanson, Flilipe Albuquerque and Paul di Resta.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.