Giannis Antetokounmpo, MVP for the second year in a row

The Greek is the first European and the second non-American after Nash to win this recognition twice.


Three hours in advance of the scheduled time, the name of the MVP of the regular season in the NBA has been made official. It is Giannis Antetokounmpo, who repeats the award that he already won last year. The news was advanced by Adrian Wojnarowski, despite the fact that the League was going to make it official in an act starting at 8:00 p.m. in Spain. Thus, a bittersweet ending for the Greek player, who sees his great career recognized during the regular league and thus compensates, at least individually, the bad drink of the 4-1 elimination before the Miami Heat in the semifinals of Conference.

Giannis makes history with this second MVP. No European player had achieved it more than once (in fact the only other winner from the Old Continent was Dirk Nowitzki in 2007). In addition, he tied with Steve Nash for the non-American player with the most MVPs of the season. The Bucks player has averaged 29.5 points, 13.6 rebounds and 5.6 assists per game. The last player to win the MVP twice in a row was Stephen Curry in 2015 and 2016.

But perhaps the most impressive thing about this award, which LeBron James and James Harden were also up for, is that it will be combined with the best defender of the year award. Taking the two trophies in the same season is something exceptional that had only happened two other times in history. In 1988 Michael Jordan and the 1994 Hakeem Olajuwon.

This is the list of the players who have won the MVP of the season the most times:

6 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

5 - Bill Russell and Michael Jordan

4 - Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James

- Moses Malones, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson

2 - Bob Pettit, Karl Malone, Tim Duncan, Steve Nash, Stephen Curry and Giannis Antetokounmpo

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.