Tringale, disqualified from the PGA after giving a wrong card

The American scored 68 strokes instead of the 69 he signed due to an error in the counting of hole 8. He communicated it, but it was too late.

Tringale-disqualified-from-the-PGA-after-giving-a-wrong-card

An oversight has cost the American Cameron Tringale his place in the PGA Championship, the first major of the year. Tringale mistakenly scored 68 hits on the second round scorecard when in fact he had hit 69 and there was no remedy.

The error came on the eighth hole, a par 3. He scored three strokes when he actually bogeyed four. At the end of the tour he handed over the card and went to eat something and rest. When he took a look at the classification to check his position, he realized the error and went to report it to the results office, but it was too late.

The Californian, who was playing at home this week (he is from Modesto Viejo, California, near the TPC Harding Park in San Francisco that is hosting the tournament), was disqualified under rule 3.3b (3), which establishes the consequences of deliver the wrong card.

It rains when it is wet

It is not the first time something like this has happened to you. He already did something similar in the 2014 edition in Valhalla and received the same punishment. In that case it took a week to report the error. The Californian was playing his first major since the 2016 PGA and finished in the top-3 at the 3M Open two weeks ago.

Photos from as.com

Powered by Blogger.