Mavi García and Gutiérrez, favorites for gold in the road event

In the men's U23 event, David Martín, Iván Cobo and Vicente Hernáiz are some of the men to watch. The circuit consists of 24 kilometers.

The Balearic Mavi García, who this Friday won the title of champion of Spain in time trial, and the Basque Ane Santesteban will seek to break the hegemony of the Movistar Team in the last two years in the National Women's Cycling Championship, an online test that will be held on Saturday between Úbeda and Baeza, in Jaén, while the men's U23 race has a more open prognosis.

The women's peloton will face the start of a 106-kilometer route from Úbeda to complete a 22-kilometer stretch that will lead to the demanding 26-kilometer circuit and 500 meters of unevenness that they will have to do three laps to resolve the name of the new champion from Spain online.

Mavi García, who is a member of the Alé BTC Ljubljana, is currently the fittest cyclist in the national peloton after having signed great performances this season at the Emakumeen Nafarroako Klasikoa and, above all, at Strade Bianche, where only the world champion Annemiek Van Vleuten was able to beat it. The cyclist will have before her the challenge of taking advantage of the toughest sections of the route to mark differences and dismantle the numerical superiority of the Movistar Team, especially after winning the time with great superiority.

The Movistar team will arrive led by Sheyla Gutiérrez, who also reaches the Nacional in a great moment after triumphing in La Périgord. The Rioja will have the support of the great block formed by Eider Merino, Gloria Rodríguez, Lourdes Oyarbide, who defends the title, Alicia González and Alba Teruel, who could also have their opportunity if the race circumstances are favorable to them.

The other great threat of the Movistar Team will be Ane Santesteban, who also arrives in Jaén with a good bag of results. The Basque finished in fifteenth position in the Strade Bianche and did not fall below the 'top 15' in the three tests held on Spanish soil in the return to competition: Tenth in the Durango-Durango Emakumeen Saria; Ninth in the Navarra Women's Classical and fifteenth in the Emakumeen Nafarroako Klasikoa. Other cyclists to take into account in the fight for the elite title will be Irene Méndez (Río Miera) and Mireia Benito (Massi-Tactic), medalists in the last edition, or Enara López (Cronos-Casa Dorada) .

Men's Under-23 event

Meanwhile, the Spanish Under-23 Championship, which after the women's event will also be held between Úbeda and Baeza, presents an extensive list of favorites for the final victory over a 159-kilometer track. Among the contenders for the crown, the Andalusian David Martín, winner in the last round of the Copa de España elite-sub23; the Cantabrian Iván Cobo, who arrives in Jaén after successfully debuting in professionals by winning the mountain award at the Getxo Circuit with the Kern Pharma team and who was silver in the chrono this Friday; Vicente Hernáiz from Valladolid, winner this year of the San José Trophy; and Josu Exteberria (Navarra), winner of the Tour of Zamora.

In the list of candidates there are also Arturo Grávalos from La Rioja; the Catalan Jordi López, the Madrid brothers Carlos and Raúl García, the latter brand new champion of Spain against the clock; the Basques Jon Barrenetxea and Jokin Murguialday and the Asturian Edu Perez-Landaluce.

The circuit, with 24 kilometers and 500 meters of accumulated unevenness per lap, will offer a multitude of options to break the race and delight Andalusian fans at every step. A hard climb, cobblestones and a technical descent that leads to 500 meters from the finish line promise emotion and beauty in equal parts in a test that is presented with an open forecast to find a successor to the Andalusian Carmelo Urbano, now a professional at Caja Rural-Seguros RAG.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.