Copa América 2020: format and organization of the tournament

Know all the data of the next Copa América to be played in Argentina and Colombia. With what innovative format the tournament will be played in two countries.


The highest South American competition at the level of selections will return next year. Conmebol has made this decision to square it with the European Championship in the even years where there is no World Cup

New format for the Copa América

Conmebol has decided to change the format of the competition again. From next year the selections will be divided into two groups: North Zone and South Zone.

Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela and one of the two guest teams will play in the north. While the southern group will be formed by Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay and the other invited selection.

All the selections of each group will play among themselves and the best four will go to the quarterfinals. This will increase the total games of the competition by twelve, since each team will go from playing a minimum of three games to five,

Invited Selections

It has not yet been said publicly what the invited teams will be but everything indicates that they will be Australia and Qatar, the latter repeating this year's participation.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.