The other five Spanish salad bowls in the Davis Cup

The Spanish tennis team won five titles in 12 years, opening its record in 2000. It also lost four finals.

With 118 years of history, the Davis Cup is one of the most legendary competitions in sport history. Spain has the privilege of being the sixth country in history with more salad bowls, but its medal winners in this tournament opened just two decades ago. Since 2000, the Spanish team added its five salad bowls in just twelve years, without a doubt, one of the most successful crossings in the history of Davis.

2000: first title (Costa, Ferrero, Balcells and Corretja)

Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona witnessed a new era. The third time was the charm for Spain in a final in which he won the coveted revenge against another powerful Australian team led by Lleyton Hewitt and Patrick Rafter. Juan Carlos Ferrero was responsible for putting the final 3-1 in the tie against Hewitt, taking advantage of his best game on clay.

Lleyton Hewitt wins Albert Costa: 6-3, 1-6, 6-2, 4-6, 4-6 Juan Carlos Ferrero to Patrick Rafter: 6-7 (4), 7-6 (2), 6-2, 3-1 (retired) Juan Manuel Bacells / Alex Corretja to Sandon Stolle / Mark Wookforde: 6-4, 6-4, 6-4 Juan Carlos Ferrero to Lleyton Hewitt: 6-2, 7-6 (5), 4-6 , 6-

Captain: Javier Duarte

2004: the birth of a star (Moyá, Nadal, Ferrero and Robredo)

In 2004, the history of world tennis in the Charterhouse of Seville changed forever with the first great feat of Rafa Nadal. The Balearic, who was already decisive in the semifinals qualifying, signed a stellar performance in his first Davis Cup final, defeating one of the best players in the circuit: Andy Roddick. With the tie on track, Carlos Moyá gave the victory to Spain against Roddick himself. United States fell by 3-2.

Carlos Moya defeats Mardy Fish: 6-4, 6-2, 6-3 Rafael Nadal to Andy Roddick: 6-7 (6), 6-2 7-6 (6), 6-2Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan to Juan Carlos Ferrero / Tommy Robredo: 6-0, 6-3 and 6-2 Carlos Moya to Andy Roddick: 6-2, 7-6 (1), 7-6 (5)

Captain: Jordi Arrese

2008: epic in Mar del Plata (Ferrer, Feliciano, Verdasco and Granollers)

Spain conquered its first Davis Cup as a visitor against Argentina, in the town of Mar del Plata. The Spanish team, with the loss of Nadal, gave the surprise to the fervor of the always passionate Argentine fans. Things got tough with Ferrer's defeat in the first clash, but Feliciano and Verdasco were in charge of turning the scoreboard to win 3-2. Comeback epic and third salad bowl.

David Nalbandian wins David Ferrer: 6-3, 6-2, 6-3 Feliciano López to Juan Martín del Potro: 6-4, 6-7 (2), 6-7 (4), 3-6 Feliciano López / Fernando Verdasco to Agustín Calleri / David Nalbandian: 7-5, 5-7, 6-7 (5), 3-6 Fernando Verdasco to José Acasuso: 3-6, 7-6 (3), 6-4, 3-6, 1 -6

Captain: Emilio Sánchez-Vicario

2009: poker arrives (Nadal, Ferrer, Feliciano and Verdasco)

Palau Sant Jordi once again hosted a new Davis Cup final in Spain and another new success. Unlike previous finals, the Spanish team swept from start to finish with full wins (5-0). Not even Berdych and Stepanek, the great stars of the Czech team, could avoid the 'rosco': double wins by Nadal and Ferrer, plus Feliciano-Verdasco in doubles.

Rafael Nadal defeats Tomas Berdych: 7-5, 6-0, 6-2 David Ferrer to Radek Stepanek: 1-6, 2-6, 6-4, 6-4, 8-6 Feliciano López / Fernando Verdasco to Tomas Berdych / Radek Stepanek: 7-6 (7), 7-5, 6-2 Rafael Nadal to Jan Hajek: 6-3, 6-4 David Ferrer to Lukas Dlouhy: 6-4, 6-2

Captain: Albert Costa

2011: Argentina could not take revenge (Nadal, Ferrer, Feliciano, Verdasco and Granollers)

The last triumph of Spain in the Davis Cup took place in the Cartuja in Seville. Once again, Argentina was the rival, but could not with the dominance of the Spanish team on clay or complete its revenge for what happened in Mar del Plata. The most successful quartet that Spain has had in this competition closed the circle with two wins by Nadal and one by Ferrer (3-1 in the overall) .

Rafael Nadal wins Juan Monaco: 6-1, 6-1, 6-2 David Ferrer Juan Martín del Potro: 6-2, 6-7 (2), 3-6, 6-4, 6-3 David Nalbandian / Eduardo Schwank to Feliciano López / Fernando Verdasco: 4-6, 2-6, 3-6 Rafael Nadal to Juan Martín del Potro: 1-6, 6-4, 6-1, 7-6 (0)

Captain: Albert Costa

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.