Bernal, a new champion without stage victory in the Tour

Only nine Tour winners were unable to win at least one stage in the same edition. The avalanche of Tignes stole the victory from Bernal.

The neutralization of the nineteenth stage of the Tour de France, which should have ended in Tignes, left Egan Bernal without the first place of the day marching steadily towards his first stage victory in the gala round 222222 Despite the organization decided to take the times with which the cyclists crowned the Col de l'Iseran, through which the Colombian passed first, it was also ruled that the stage would not have a winner.

This decision caused an atypical situation in the Tour de France: The winner of the general classification could not win at any stage of the edition. While it is true that Bernal had the victory in Tignes in his hand, the avalanche made the Colombian enter this select club.

This made alone has occurred nine times in the history of the Tour de France: happened to Henri Cornet (190 4), Firmin Lambot (1922), Roger Walkowiak (1956), Gastone Nencini (1960), Lucien Aimar (1966), Greg LeMond (1990), 11111122 (1122, 1222) Data via @ ammattipyöräily. Beyond Bernal, none of the runners that make up the top 4 of the general classification have won a stage, something that had not happened since 1956, when Walkowiak, Bauvin, Adriaenses and Bahamontes left without a stage victory.

neutralized stage, Bernal was close to taking a victory in several days: was fifth in the Tourmalet, just eight seconds from Pinot; also fifth in Foix; and fourth in the stage where he was crowned as virtual winner of the Tour de France. 444444

This curious statistic has been fulfilled only three times in which it goes of century. 2 The most famous was that of the Spanish Óscar Pereiro, who finished second in a fugue which came with almost half an hour of advantage, which earned him the yellow jersey. The other case was that of Chris Froome in 2017. that "only" could be third up to four times.


Also another curious fact has been given in this Tour de France 2019: is the fifth time in history, since in 1969 he stopped running under national teams, in which two teammates occupy the first two places of the podium in Paris. 2 Ineos de Bernal and Thomas joins La Vie Claire, which he did in 1985 and 1986 with Hinault and LeMond - each won an edition; to Telekom that did the same in 1996 with Riis and Ullrich; and to the Sky, now Ineos, which placed Wiggins and Froome as first and second in 2012, via @ ammattipyöräily.

Finally, Bernal became the fifth runner in history to win yellow jersey and white jersey in the same edition of the Tour de France: Laurent Fignon (1983), Jan Ullrich (1997), Alberto Contador (2007) and Andy Schleck (2010) were the first four to do so, via @ ammattipyöräily.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.