Nadal, with Bolt, Phelps or Russell in the galaxy of legends

Few have dominated in the same test or discipline as he did with his 12 victories at Roland Garros. Here, a review of some of the greatest sports 'dictatorships'.

Fifteen times he has played Rafael Nadal Roland Garros and twelve times he has won, a 'dictatorship' with few precedents in history. The Spaniard has already passed the eleven Australian Open of Margaret Court and, some time ago, the eight and nine Wimbledon of Federer and Navratilova. A two titles of Grand Slam (20 by 18) to match the Swiss, is in the Olympus of the greatest sportsmen of always, whose exploits we review below:

Michael Phelps

Nobody is even remotely close to the 23 Olympic golds the American swimmer, especially intractable in 200 butterfly, has hung in his career. Five gold metals in World Cups and three others in Games were their spoils in that test between 2001 and 2016.

Usain Bolt

There is a distance to which the Jamaican took more revenue than the 100 meters: the 200. In the double hectometer Bolt won four world prizes (2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015) and three Olympic Games (2008, 2012 and 2016), for a total of six in 100.

Paco Gento

Dieciocho season was the 'Galerna del Cantábrico' in the legendary Real Madrid of the 50s and 60s Y in six he added a European Cup to his record , with five consecutive between 1956 and 1960 and another in 1967.

Joe Louis

No pugil has successfully defended so many times a belt as the 'Detroit Bomber'. Up to 25 times he put the heavyweights into play since he won by knocking out James J. Braddock in 1937 and in all prevailed. Finally he would lose it in 1950.

Bill Russell

Central part of the unbeatable Celtics of the 60s, the center of Louisiana added a whopping 11 rings of the NBA in 13 years of career. The first came in 1957 and then added eight consecutive between 1959 and 1966. The last two, in 1968 and 1969.

Tom Brady

Four players have won six times the NFL, but only the Patriots quarterback has got all his rings under the Super Bowl format. Brady touched the glory in 2001, 2003, 2004, 2014, 2016 and 2018.

Jack Nicklaus

The 'Golden Bear' played 38 editions of the Augusta Masters and won it in six, more than anyone in any major. His green jackets arrived in 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975 and 1986.


Eddy Merckx, Jacques Anquetil, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain are the chosen ones who have managed to win five times the Tour de France. 'Miguelón ', in particular, accumulated its titles without interruptions between 1991 and 1995.


In circuits, Ángel Nieto won 13 world motorcycling in different displacements from 1969 to 1984 and Agostini, 15 between 1966 and 1975, with ten wins in the GP of Imatra (Finland). Schumacher won seven Formula 1 World Cups between 1994 and 2004 and eight times in the Magny Cours GP (France). Outside the tracks, Stephane Peterhansel has accumulated 13 victories in the Dakar between cars and motorcycles since 1991 and Sebastien Loeb, 9 rally worlds between 2004 and 2012. Far from the most media modalities, the Catalan Toni Bou has been 25 times world champion , 12 outside and 13 under roof, since 2007.

Ulrich Salchow

At the dawn of the 21st century a Swede named Ulrich Salchow dominated figure skating, conquering ten worlds in two batches of five in a row (from 1901 to 1905 and from 1907 to 1911) . Still holds the record, equaled later by the Norwegian Sonja Henie, and currently gives name to one of the jumps performed in this discipline.

Teddy Riner

Diez world and two Olympic golds wearing 'Teddy Winner', the most successful judoka in great quotes. A titan of more than two meters and 100 kilos of weight who accumulates all kinds of distinctions in France.

Barrufet, O'Callaghan and Xepkin

Although Sepkin was born in Ukraine and O'Callaghan has Irish surname, the three defended the shirt of the National Team Spanish and Barça and are the players who have won the European Cup of handball more times, now Champions League, with the seven titles won by the Catalan club in 1991, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2005. In the first there was Xepkin, who in turn added one with the Kiel in 2007.

Photos from

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.