Van der Poel and the success of the ciclocrós in the road tests

Cyclists like Purito Rodríguez and José Antonio Hermida defend the success of the modality after the phenomenon of the Dutch. Other cyclocross riders also shined en route.

The spectacular victory of Mathieu Van der Poel in the Amstel Gold Race has brought back to the fore the adaptability of cyclists participating in ciclocrós when participating in road races, especially in the Flanders Classics and the Ardennes. The track record in 2019 of the current cyclocross world champion scares: stage victories in tests like the Antalya Tour, and in one day events like the Denain GP and the Brabant Arrow and in UCI World Tour races as A Through Flanders and Amstel Gold Race, in addition to finishing fourth in Ghent-Wevelgem and Tour of Flanders.

The victory of Van der Poel made social networks numerous figures of cycling highlight this feature. Joaquim 'Purito' Rodríguez believes that the results of Van der Poel can create a trend in the passage from cyclocross to road tests: "When Sky started to roll after the stage, everyone made a roller." When Peter Sagan eats the teddy bears past goal, everyone to eat sweets, I see the ProTour teams asking for cyclocross bicycles this winter, Huge Mathieu Van der Poel ".

A similar opinion keeps the MTB cyclist José Antonio Hermida, waiting that with the emergence of the phenomenon of the Dutch cyclist: "Will this extraordinary runner Mathieu Van der Poel be the trigger for the final" click "in the World Tour Teams to add divisions OffRoad (MTB / CX) and track in their structures? Do you think? "

The precedents also endorse Van der Poel as other cyclists who have gone from cycling or mountain biking to the route also n have been successful, although they have not aroused as much expectation in the short term as the Dutch cyclist.

Before Van der Poel, his great rival in the ciclocrós, Wout Van Aert, triple champion of ciclocrós, already shone in his jump to the road in 2018, where he won a stage and the general of the Tour of Denmark besides shining in Strade Bianche (3rd) and being Top-10 in Ghent-Wevelgem and Tour Flanders and rubbing the Top-10 in Roubaix. This year third Van Aert has signed for the Jumbo-Visma of the UCI World Tour and has been third in Strade Bianche, sixth in Milan-San Remo and second in E3 BinckBank Classic.

Other example of the successful passage of the ciclocrós to the route is the Czech Zdenek Stybar. Triple world cyclocross champion, Stybar has also achieved great road successes in the ranks of the Deceuninck Quick-Step, as he has been twice second in Paris-Roubaix (2015 and 2017), stage winner and of the general in the Eneco Tour, stage winner in the Tour of Spain (2013) and Tour de France (2015) and has also conquered classics such as the Strade Bianche 2015 and the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and the E3 BinckBank Classic in this season 2019.

Many years before the Belgian Roger de Vlaeminck also combined the route with the ciclocrós. De Vlaeminck won the Cyclocross World Championship in 1975, although his track record is more impressive: 22 stages of the Giro, 6 general and 15 stages of Tirreno Adriatico and es, along with Eddy Merckx and Rik Van Looy, one of the three cyclists who they have won the five monuments with 4 Paris-Roubaix, 3 Milan-San Remo, 2 Giro of Lombardy, a Tour of Flanders and a Liege-Bastogne-Liege in their extensive track record.

The closest precedent to Mathieu Van der Poel is the from his father, Adrie Van der Poel, who also alternated road and cyclocross winning tests like the Klasikoa of 1985, the Tour of Flanders of 1986, the Liege-Bastogne-Liege of 1988 and the Amstel Gold Race of 1990 en route and being Cyclocross world champion in 1996, runner-up from 88 to 91 and third in 1992 and 1999.

Another example of successful passage of modality was the Australian Cadel Evans, who was champion of the world of MTB in 1998 and 1999 before and take the leap to the road to start a successful career in which he added the overall Tour of France 2011, the Road World Championship 2009, the 2010 Wall Street Arrow, the Tirreno-Adriatico 2011 and the Roamndía Tour 2006 and 2011 among other titles.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.