The curiosities you should know about the Flanders Tour 2019

This Sunday, the second monument of the season, the Tour of Flanders, is disputed and on the occasion of the race we collect some relevant information about the race.

This Sunday, the Flemish cobblestones will see the great clasicosmanos of the peloton in action at the Tour de Flandes, the second monument of the season and the first on the pavés. Here we review some of the curious figures left by the race.

17 terrifying levels with Oude Kwaremont, Kapelmuur, Koppenberg and Paterberg

The demanding tour of the Flanders Tour includes some of the most outstanding points of the Belgian geography as the Oude Kwaremont, the Paterberg and the Kapelmuur. The Oude Kwaremont is a rise of 2.2 kilometers cobbled at 4% and ramps of 11% that is decisive next to the Paterberg, of 360 meters paved to 13% and ramps of up to 20%, which will be the last climb before the goal of Oudenaarde. For its part, the Kapelmuur, also known as Mur de Geraardsbergen, will leave beautiful prints with its 750 meters of cobblestone at 10% and ramps of 20%. It is undoubtedly one of the emblems of the race that returned to the track in 2017 after 5 years of absence.

The second longest monument of 2019

A waiting for the route of the Tour of Lombardy, the Tour of Flanders to be presented Second longest monument on the calendar with 270 kilometers, second only to the 291 of the Milan-San Remo. For its part Paris-Roubaix will have 257 and Liège-Bastogne-Liège 256,444,444 Mussew, Boonen, Cancellara, Leman, Buysse and Magni, Kings of Flanders

Six cyclists are listed as the great champions of the Tour of Flanders, having won the race three times . The first to achieve it was the Belgian Achiel Buysse after winning the editions of 1940, 1941 and 1943. After him, Fiorenzo Magni repeated the feat few years later, being the only cyclist to date to win the test in three consecutive editions (1949, 1950 and 1950), so he earned the nickname 'The Lion of Flanders'. In the 70s, Eric Leman was the clear dominator of the race with his triumphs in 1970, 1971 and 1972, a domain that would not be repeated until the 1990s when Johan Museew won the race in 1993, 1995 and 1998. In the twenty-first century, the retired Tom Boonen (winner in 2005, 2006 and 2012) and Fabian Cancellara (champion in 2010, 2013 and 2014) have been the great dominators of Belgian cobblestones.

In the female category, only Judith Arndt has been the only one to repeat victory in the 10 disputed editions of the race after winning in 2008 and 2012. Ina Teutenberg (2009), Grace Verbeke (2010), Annemiek Van Vleuten (2011) Mariane Vos (2013), Ellen Van Dijk (2014) , Elisa Longo Borghini (2015), Elisabeth Deignan (2016), Coryn Rivera (2017) and Anna Van der Breggen (2018) complete the list of winners of the event. In this way, Holland dominates the track record with four titles won.

Nobody repeats victory from Cancellara

From Fabian Cancellara won in 2014 after winning in 2013 (previously won in 2010), not a cyclist has managed to repeat victory in the goal of Oudenaarde. The last four champions (Alexander Kristoff, Peter Sagan, Philippe Gilbert and Niki Terpstra) are the only active cyclists who can get a second title in this edition.

Clear dominance of Belgium in the track record

Belgium is the clear dominator of the track record of the Tour of Flanders with a total of 69 victories, more than two thirds of the 101 editions that have been played to date. In addition to the aforementioned Achiel Buysse, Eric Leman, Johan Museew and Tom Boonen, other great Belgian cyclists like Eddy Merckx, Peter Van Petegem and Stijn Devolder have managed to win De Ronde on more than one occasion.

Sagan, last rainbow jersey to win

In 2016 Peter Sagan became the last cyclist to win in Oudenaarde wearing the rainbow jersey. This fact can serve as inspiration to Alejandro Valverde, current world champion, who will take the start for the first time in De Ronde.

Bortolami won the fastest edition

The Italian Gianluca Bortolami took the victory in the fastest edition of the History of the Tour of Flanders in 2001 covering the 269 kilometers of travel in 6 hours, 10 minutes and 23 seconds, at an average of 43.57 km / h.

The vueltómanos also triumph in Flanders

In this 2018 Vincenzo Nibali could become another vueltómano that obtains the victory in the Tour of Flanders. Fiorenzo Magni, Louison Bobet or Eddy Merckx are some of the winners of great laps he has won in Flanders. Gianni Bugno in 1994 was the last champion of laps by stages that was imposed on the Belgian cobbles.

Flecha, the only Spaniard on the podium

The Tour of Flanders is one of the races that has not yet managed to conquer any Spanish cyclist. Juan Antonio Flecha has achieved the best result to date after finishing third in the 2008 edition after Stijn Devolder and Nick Nuyens.

Photos from
Powered by Blogger.